Science & Technology

Welcome to the Science Library Guide! This guide provides resources for information pertaining to Science. For more in-depth research assistance, please visit the library's reference desk.

Image: SlideServe

Reference Resources

Ethics, science, technology, and engineering : a global resource

Call Number: Q175.35 .E53 2015 

McGraw Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

Call Number: Q 121 .M29 2005

The American Heritage Encyclopedia of Science

Call Number:  Q123 .A5178 2005

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics: a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data

Call Number:  QD65 C72 2004-2005

Van Nostand's encyclopedia of chemistry

Call Number: QD 4 .V36 2005

Online Databases

Energy & Power Source

Provides journals and magazines focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power and renewable

energy. 

History of Science, Technology & Medicine

This database provides interdisciplinary searching for subjects: biological science, computer and information sciences,

engineering, geography, and mathematics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library provides encyclopedias and reference books on a variety of subjects including natural science.

GreenFILE

This resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Scientific American 

This resource provides information on topics regarding scientific discovery and technological innovation. 

Internet Resources

Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information provided by US Government science agencies, including research and development results.

Science Magazine

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) -- is Science's publisher, and a leading voice for the interests of scientists worldwide.

Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.

Discover Magazine:The magazine of science, technology, and the future.

Discover magazine publishes the latest news, theories, and developments in the world of science. The publication also covers environmental issues and their relevance to daily life as well features cutting-edge technology and its impact on our future.

SciVerse Hub

Hub brings you the most credible articles, books, theses, abstracts and patent content you trust, plus curated web results, from publishers, universities and professional organizations around the world.

Chemistry

Courses and videos on chemistry curriculum's from Khan Academy

The Periodic Table of Videos

Univ. of Nottingham - Each element has 3-5 minute video combining informal lecture and lab demonstrations

Visual Elements

Royal Society of Chemistry- Graphical interpretation of elements

What's That Stuff?

Located on the American Chemical Society website, contains compositions of everyday items.

 Last Updated: August 20, 2020

To print a copy of this Library Guide, click the "PDF version" link in the bottom right corner.